Qype: The InterContinental in London

LondonHotels & HolidaysHotels5 Star HotelsHotels & HolidaysHotels

The recent Tea Palace Tea Tasting at the Intercontinental Cookbook Cafe saw our gang discovering what was on offer as part of their Spring menu.

After being pepped up by the range of teas we were served a bellini cocktail with green tea and pineapple puree – simply tea-licious. although i nearly poked my eye out with the large protruding leaf.

On to the food, and it wasn’t a bad spread although the tea influence which chef Paul Bates was at pains to emphasize seemed at times a little stretched.

The usual cucumber and chicken sandwiches were nothing special although the sea trout was a little different.

The Scones were great, although again nothing out of the ordinary.

The cakes were nice though, particularly the apple and sweet rhubarb mousse and the Green tea and lime sorbet was a nice touch.

It seems like a lovely hotel with friendly, approachable staff and I get the feeling the Cookbook Cafe is just the tip of the iceberg as far as its offerings go. I hope to be back to try other goodies here in future..

Check out my review of The InterContinental – I am Marshy1903 – on Qype

3 Comments

Filed under Tea

3 responses to “Qype: The InterContinental in London

  1. Was this the event organised by Tikichris on Qype? Didn’t get picked for that one unfortunately, but I thought you guys were suppose to have free flowing bloody maries? I wonder how much the high tea is priced at, you don’t seem to have been overly impressed.

    Luiz @ The London Foodie

    • Hi Luiz,
      No, this was a different event to the Breakfast one with the Bloody Maries which did sound fantastic. The High Tea is £18 although like I say ours was complimentary – would I pay that? In a word no, but then I’m not sure how it compares to other places and I thought the hotel itself seemed nice.

  2. I agree with you about the food at the hotel – I didn’t really mention it on our blog post as it didn’t make much of an impression although all edible.

    Even though it was complimentary – I thought they would have made more of an effort on giving us fresher sandwiches and scones.

    Tea lessons were interesting but I thought a little cold.

Leave a Reply

