Pizza East

Pizza East – Shoreditch

Ground Floor, The Tea Building, Shoreditch High Street, Shoreditch, London E1 6JJ

I was here on a Saturday lunchtime and it wasn’t particularly busy so I can’t comment on some of the service issues that others have mentioned during the evening rush.

We liked the stripped down warehouse space and decor, the banquettes and tables were stylish and in the afternoon it was well lit in a great location and we got a seat by the window to watch the world passing by.

My dining companion was hungover and struggled with her crayfish and samphire Pizza – which was to my benfit as I thought it was very tasty and preferred it to the San Daniele ham, tomato, ricotta, pesto, baby chard that I had. Some others have criticised the Pizza but I liked it, a slightly chewy base and decent toppings.

We didn’t have starters – which is a shame because that’s what people seem to be raving about. However I can recommend the Bloody Mary as a spicy tonic.

I wouldn’t make a special effort to come back here but then it’s location is pretty handy so I wouldn’t be surprised if I ended up here again.

I didn’t realise this place was owed by the same guy as Shoreditch House but it is the same building so I guess that makes sense..

http://www.qype.co.uk/place/992961-Pizza-East-London

Pizza East on Urbanspoon

1 Comment

Filed under Restaurant Review

One response to “Pizza East

  1. I actually liked Pizza East, it is one of those places that really divide opinion – the roasted bone marrow is superb and I thought the pizza base is fantastic, love that chewiness and weight of the dough.

    Luiz @ The London Foodie

Leave a Reply

